Archive for July, 2011

Album Review

Nicholas Szczepanik – Please Stop Loving Me (Streamline, 2011)

Nicholas Szczepanik Please Stop Loving Me (excerpt)

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

This is difficult for me. I haven’t written a full album review since Mind Over Mirrors on June 1. That’s almost 2 months (not that I’m counting or anything). But it’s not just about having a hard time gettin my groove back, I’m also having some performance anxiety. You see, Please Stop Loving Me is downright astonishing and possibly the best drone record this year, and trying to do justice to it while my gears are rusted over is a bit nerve wracking.

New work from Nicholas Szczepanik isn’t rare. If you’ve been keeping up with his Ante Algo Azul subscription series, you’d know he’s been putting out a new 15-20 minute piece every month. However, a new full length, well, we haven’t had one of those since LAST YEAR. Withdrawal inducing, to say the least. But the best news about this recent one, though, is that it’s the longest single piece Szczepanik has released (I think?), just about 50 minutes worth of beautiful tones & dreamlike drones. Fucking HEAVEN.

I can’t imagine a nicer way to spend each and every day than listening to Please Stop Loving Me. It dances in such organic ways, shifts and glides so smoothly, pure delicacy seeping through each moment. It’s like swimming through a spring fed lake, floating from pockets of warm to cool, rising and falling but always completely immersed.

As wonderfully serene as it is, the whole time you’re wading waist deep in emotion, the sustained & intertwined tones heavy hearted, cascading heartache, longing, and hope. An elegiac softness matched with poignant massiveness that ends on the brightest, most uplifting note, fading into the horizon.

I’ve listened to this countless times and every time it’s more breathtaking than the last. It’s almost overwhelming how gorgeous it is. If I was the type of dude that was brought to tears by a record, Please Stop Loving Me would have made me weep until I collapsed.

Here They Come

Lounging on that couch are the records which have been sent to me during my time of over-worked sadness. They are the records which I shall soon share with you, the records which you will soon be enthralled with. This photo is a preview & manifesto, showing you what’s in store and encouraging me to set time aside to finally listen to those motherfuckers.

There’s some Experimedia records, a batch of 12 Stunned tapes, stuff from Rubber City Noise, the freshly re-established Haute Magie, Copy For Your Records, Tape Drift, Dynamo Sound Collective, Ghetto Naturalist Series, Galtta, Full Of Nothing, Under The Spire, and a brand new Nicholas Szczepanik full length on Streamline that’s going to make you weep. And that’s just the promo stuff! That’s not including anything I collected on my own, like the new Keith Fullerton Whitman / Ben Vida split, the debut from Giles Corey, Sway, and a ton of other awesome shit.

So there’s plenty of coolness on the way. Just gotta keep your eyes peeled and be patient. Thanks for sticking around.



My grandfather died. I’m going to be with family this weekend. I should start posting again sometime next week.

I posted this mix for a funeral I went to last October. It’s still highly relevant.

Download Funeral
1. More Dogs – Duty. Duty? Duty.
2. Boris with Merzbow – Evil Stack
3. Daniel Menche – Track 8 (Concussions Disc 2)
4. The Mausoleums – Totem Pole
5. Xexyz – Metroid
6. Have A Nice Life – The Icon And The Axe
7. Cocteau Twins – Amelia
8. A Faulty Chromosome – Incubate’r
9. Penguin Cafe Orchestra – Salty Bean Fumble
10. Windsor For The Derby – Gathering
11. Shellac – Disgrace
12. Larval – The Strange Farm
13. Jenny Hoyston & William Whitmore – Marrow
14. Langhorne Slim – One Sunday Morning
15. Set Fire To Flames – When Sorrow Shoots Her Darts